Is it pale enough? – Too Faced Born This Way foundation – Snow

Let me start this off by saying, if you get the previous palest shade, Porcelain, the answer is no. The shade is so not-pale it looks like self tanner on me.

I do realise I am the palest of the pale, but it was also too dark for my little sister, who is a normal, palest-shade-in-drugstore-lines, pale. Porcelain is not a pale shade and would be a summer shade for even darkly tanned girls who might be naturally pale in the winter, but not at all for snow-white porcelain princesses like those who might view my blog.

(For that matter, their previous darkest shade, Caramel, was a joke too)

I had to say this in case you had been discouraged from trying this foundation because you had tried it on in the store before and saw how ridiculously not pale “Porcelain” was and gave up on it.

Okay, disclaimer over.

They actually have two new shades below the Original Porcelain now. Pearl, which is still too dark for me, but would be a decent colour for my sister and Snow for us porcelain princesses.

Snow is a beautiful peachy colour which seems to be a very pink toned peach on my skin, but looking at it, I think if you had yellow undertones, it would seem to be a very yellow toned peach. I find it to be universally flattering which is something I really appreciate when they only make on shade at the bottom of the range, that they don’t make it too pink toned (which I like)  or too yellow toned, thus cutting out half of the women who could use it.

It is very long wearing on my oily skin. It wore for about 7 hours when set with my NARS powder (getting over 6 hours on my oily skin is a victory).

When set with powder, it doesn’t seem to oxidise.

It is very high coverage, completely covering up my acne blemishes redness and even helping with texture (I have acne which scabs up almost immidately, so anything that helps with texture is a miracle)

(Update)

In the almost two months since trying this foundation, it has quickly become one of my favourites.

Packaging

I always love Too Faced packaging and the Too Faced Born This Way Coconut Water foundation. The entire feel, as typical for Too Faced, is one of Art Neuveau  luxury. It comes in a beautiful frosted glass bottle with a free included pump (unlike MAC & NARS which you have to pay $10+ for) so, for around the same price, this is incredible.

IMG_3044

Did it break me out?

No, it didn’t break me out at all, it has no spf, which I’m pretty sure is the element in most foundations which is causing me acne, so that isn’t surprising, though.

I did not get a chance to sleep in it to test it out for that because my skin was still recovering from a freakout caused by an spf moisturiser I got as a sample at Sephora (wasted 100 points on that one), so quite frankly, I was scared to aggravate it and break my skin out for another 6 weeks.

(Update)

In the almost two months that have gone by since the weather and my schedule permitted me to take swatches in the sunlight, I have slept in it three times and it doesn’t break me out even if I sleep in it, making it second only to my MAC Pro  Longwear Waterproof.

Is it pale enough?

 Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. I love the finish of this makeup. The peachy colour makes my cool toned skin glow, and, as mentioned earlier, I’m sure it would do the same for warm or neutral undertones.

Swatchey Swatchey time

Too Faced Snow – MAC Nourishing Prolongwear Waterproof NW15 – NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint Terre Neuve – MAC Studio Fix Fluid NW10 – Too Faced Snow again on the end.

Some random pictures + ingredients

Leave a comment